Boy Scouts of America, Greater Colorado Council

Greater Colorado council districts

The National Council of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA) oversees Scouting activities throughout the country. Among its major functions, the National Council develops programs, sets and maintains quality standards in training, leadership selection, uniforming, registration records, literature development, and advancement requirements. For administrative purposes the BSA is divided into four regions: Western, Central, Southern, and Northeast. Each region is then subdivided into areas. The BSA’s split into regions and areas helps Councils share services and leadership. Think of the organization like a map of the US. The country represents the National BSA and the states are the councils, the cities or counties are the districts and specific neighborhoods represent specific troops.

The BSA operates traditional Scouting by chartering local organizations, such as churches, clubs, civic associations, or educational organization, to implement the Scouting program for youth within their communities. Units are led entirely by volunteers appointed by the chartering organization, who are supported by local councils using both paid professional Scouters and volunteers.

What is the District and the District Committee?
A Scouting district is a geographical area within the local council, as determined by the council executive board. District leaders mobilize resources to ensure the growth and success of Scouting units within the district’s territory.

The district volunteers provide programs for units (such as Day Camp, Camporees, Klondike Derby, Merit Badge College, to name a few), assist in the formation of new units, and help coordinate the annual giving campaign known as Investment in Character.

District Meetings
The Key 3 (District Chair, District Commissioner, and District Staff) meet on a monthly basis to discuss activities in each district. The District Committee is comprised of 3 functions in the district, membership, finance, and program. Learn more about the district committee.

The entire district committee chaired by the district chair meets on a regularly scheduled date, usually monthly. The purpose of district committee meeting is to build momentum, provide group continuity, ensure good coordination, and make specific assignments to committee members. The district commissioner reports on the special needs of units and requests the help of operating committees to meet those needs.

The commissioner staff meets monthly at a district commissioners meeting on a regularly scheduled date, usually monthly. This is a uniformed meeting to build enthusiasm for carrying out the district’s unit service plans. Helping units succeed is at the heart of everything that occurs at the meeting. The two essential meeting events are the training topic and the assistant district commissioner breakout sessions to review unit needs.

District members at large are elected annually in the district annual meeting. All chartered organization representatives (selected by community organizations operating units) are automatically members of the council and of their district committee, thus providing close tie-in with chartered organizations. Manuals and Resources.

Scouting’s Journey to Excellence
Scouting’s Journey to Excellence (JTE) is the BSA’s performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of units, districts, and councils.

The Greater Colorado Council serves the 10 metro counties of Denver, as well as 14 counties in Western Colorado.

2020 Greater Colorado Council District Map

Greater Colorado Council District Boundries 2020

School Districts

Jefferson County, Gilpin County, Clear Creek County and Platte Canyon School District

School Districts

Douglas County, Littleton, Sheridan, Englewood, and Elbert County

School Districts

Aurora Public School, Bennett School District, Byers School District, Cherry Creek School District, Deer Trail School District, and the Strasburg

School Districts

Denver Public Schools

School Districts

Delta County School District, Dolores County School District, Gunnison Watershed School District, Hinsdale County School District, Mesa County Valley School District, Montrose County School District, Norwood Public Schools, Ouray School District, Ridgway School District, Telluride School District, and the West End School Distric

School Districts

Aspen School District 1, DeBeque, Eagle County, East Grand, Garfield County School District 16 (Grand Valley School District 16), Garfield School District RE-2, Hayden, Lake County, Meeker, Moffat County, Park County, Plateau Valley, Rangely, Roaring Fork, South Routt, Steamboat Springs, and the Summit

School Districts

Brighton, Adams 12 and Adams 14, Mapleton, Westminster 50, and the Boulder Valley

To contact an Executive Staff member for your district, please go to our Council Directory.