Bsa Header Oota

Order of the Arrow

Order of the Arrow (OA) is recognition for Scouts and Scouters who exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives, encouraging others to live these ideals. Arrowmen have a strong reputation of unchallenged service to others, while maintaining camping traditions and promoting year-round and long-term resident camping.

In 1915, Camp Director E. Urner Goodman and Assistant Camp Director Carroll A. Edson searched for a way to recognize select campers for their cheerful sprits of service at Treasure Island Scout Camp in the Delaware River. Goodman and Edson founded the Order of the Arrow when they held the first Ordeal Ceremony on July 16th of that year. By 1921, as the popularity of the organization spread to other camps, local lodges attended the first national gathering called a Grand Lodge Meeting. Chartered in 1948, the Tahosa Lodge is the home for OA within the Greater Colorado Council.

What Will I Do in Order of the Arrow?

The OA includes four levels: chapters, lodges, sections, and regions. Chapters and Lodges carry out the OA program at the local level and are closely connected to local districts and councils respectively. Sections consist of several lodges within a geographic region and regions consist of sections within a geographic region of the United States. Chapters, lodges, sections, and regions each have a distinct set of responsibilities which ensure that the OA program runs smoothly.

The OA program offers thrilling national events including high adventure opportunities during the summer, training activities, and a National Order of the Arrow Conference.