

MEDIA ADVISORY

October 18, 2019

For more information, contact: Kathy Borgais, Marketing Director

O: 720-266-2218 C: 303-704-6741

kathy.borgais@scouting.org

DENVER AREA COUNCIL TO HOST A NIGHT WITH GRANDDAUGHTERS OF SOME OF THE FOUNDERS OF SCOUTING

Lakewood, Colo—The Denver Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, will host an evening with the granddaughters of two of the founders of Scouting on Friday, October 18, 2019.

What: Meet & Greet with granddaughters of two of the founders of Scouting

Who: Denver Area Council, Boy Scouts of America

When: Friday, October 18, 6-9 p.m.

Where: 10455 W. 6th Ave., Denver CO 80215

Gill Clay and Julie Seton will share Scouting stories and fellowship at the Denver Area Council headquarters this evening. Clay is the granddaughter of Robert Baden-Powell, the founder of the world Scouting movement. Julie Seton is the granddaughter of Ernest Thompson Seton, one of the founding fathers of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA).

Under his leadership, Baden-Powell brought Scouting to the youth of the world and the world Scouting movement grew. By the end of 1910, there were 100,000 Scouts in England. In 1922, there were more than a million Scouts in 32 countries and by 1939; the number of Scouts had grown in excess of 3.3 million. Baden-Bowell became known as the "Chief Scout of the World."

In 1910, Seton helped to found the BSA. He wrote *A Handbook of Woodcraft, Scouting, and Life-craft,* merged the Woodcraft Indians with the BSA, and served as the first Chief Scout of the BSA from 1910 to 1915. Seton made sure that American Indian culture had a significant role in the BSA. American Indian culture also had an impact on the founders of the Order of the Arrow.

About the Denver Area Council

The Denver Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, serves youth in the Denver Metro and Western Slope service areas by providing programs and activities that build character and leadership skills. With the support of 8,000 volunteers, the DAC delivers educational programs to approximately 34,000 youth members. The 24 counties currently served by the Denver Area Council are: Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Delta, Denver, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, Garfield, Gilpin, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jefferson, Mesa, Moffat, Montrose, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, San Miguel, and Summit. For more information about the Denver Area Council, please visit DenverBoyScouts.org.